How Dropbox Knows When You’re Sharing Copyrighted Stuff

If you’re about to close your Dropbox account because of this tweet, you may want to hold off.

Dropbox isn’t doing anything wrong (or new for that matter):

The system is neither new, nor sketchy. It’s been in place for years, and it’s about as unsketchy as an anti-copyright infringement system can get. It allows Dropbox to block pre-selected files from being shared from person-to-person (thus keeping Dropbox from getting raided by the Feds), without their anti-infringement system having any idea what most of your files actually are.

I don’t intend on closing my account, after all, sharing copyrighted material isn’t what I use Dropbox for.

I would appreciate a price cut though.